top of page

Speaking With Ritika Putta, Former SPL

By: Tiffany Liu


The 14th edition of the Scouts BSA handbook describes the role of the SPL by stating,

The senior patrol leader (SPL) is the top youth leader in the troop. The SPL presides over all meetings and activities, chairs patrol leaders’ council [PLC] meetings, and leads the troop’s annual program planning conference. The SPL also appoints other youth leaders with the advice and consent of the Scoutmaster and oversees their training and work. (422)

Some think it’s an intimidating task, and others are up for the challenge. Regardless of various emotions affiliated with this role, the SPL holds great responsibility in the troop.

As I’m sure everyone is aware, this past year has been a whirlwind. Not only were our personal lives affected, but we also witnessed a transformation in the way our troop runs. The SPL was faced with the difficult task of navigating through these unusual circumstances and adapting accordingly. Today, Ritika Putta will be sharing her experience as SPL.


Interviewer: In general, how would you describe your experience as SPL?

Ritika: My experience as SPL was definitely a rollercoaster ride. There were ups

and downs. I don't think I can accurately describe it with just one word.

When I became SPL, I never expected that I would have to lead the troop

during a worldwide pandemic. My heart dropped as time went by and it

seemed like we were heading towards the deep end. But my girls pulled

through, and we took advantage of this situation: we have had an

immense number of advancement throughout these months of quarantine

and have made unbreakable bonds.


Interviewer: What have you learned from this experience?

Ritika: I learned how to adapt to urgent situations. This was one of the most

significant skills I had to learn especially to adapt to the whole COVID

situation and transferring our troop online. In addition, I really refined my

email-writing skills because of all the mass emails I had to send out to the

troop. Being SPL also just helped me learn more about myself: strengths,

weaknesses, what type of leader I am.


Interviewer: What were some difficulties or challenges you faced?

Ritika: The main difficulties and challenges were first just adjusting to the

pandemic. It was definitely a shock; no one expected that we would be

stuck in our homes for several months. After adjusting, it was pretty

difficult to encourage participation and offer the same activities we did in

person. Scouts were not motivated to join events and many scouts

couldn't complete their requirements because they had to be in person.


Interviewer: What made this experience so unique?

Ritika: I think every SPL's term is unique. Each SPL is presented with different difficulties, different focuses, different events, and different people they are working with. But, if we really wanted to be specific, it would definitely be because, during my term, we had to switch from in-person to online.


Interviewer: Do you have any other information or advice that you would like to

share?

Ritika: The term of SPL has always been a bit daunting to the scouts in our

troop. Yes, it is a position of great authority but it's not a position where

Scouts should be thinking: I could never be SPL, I'm not good enough or

it's too hard. I think every girl in our troop can successfully be an SPL.

They may not be there yet, but they will get there. As SPL, you always

have your ASPLs to rely on for any help or to divide work. Leading this

troop is not a one-woman job, it's a team effort.


Interviewer: Thank you for your time and effort! You will continue to inspire and motivate other girls who look up to you.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page